Folk Arts Resource Guide

Folk Arts Resource Guide

Accordion
Learning the Newfoundland Button Accordion (Volumes 1 & 2 )(DVDs) by Daniel Payne,  – an easy guide to playing; includes accordion tab; contact Daniel Payne, danielopayne@gmail.com Web site: www.danielpayne.ca

PHDs of the Button Accordion – series by Bill Wiseman (Uncle Billy). This method uses the play by number system. Various titles

How to Play The Button Accordion - A Guide for Beginners – by Geoff Panting. Featuring songs and tunes from Newfoundland. The buttons are numbered for easy instruction.

Dance
Traditional Dances of Newfoundland and Labrador – A Guide for Teachers (Jane Rutherford and Eric West) includes complete instructions for seven dances, as well as sheet music and sound files to use with the dances. Contact: Jane Rutherford, janerutherford@gmail.com or Eric West vinlandmusic@nf.sympatico.ca

Fiddle
The Easiest Dance Tunes from Newfoundland and Labrador, by Christina Smith; contact:  csmith@nf.sympatico.ca

Inshore Fiddling – An audio fiddle method (2 volumes); contact: csmith@nf.sympatico.ca

The Fiddle Music of Newfoundland & Labrador – Volumes 1 & 2; Contact Kelly Russell, Pigeon Inlet Productions: www.pigeoninlet.com

Suzuki Talent Education Program – musical instrument instruction http://www.suzukinl.ca

Guitar
Creative Guitar – a beginners’s guide  (Eric West) a method book for learning to play instrumental and accompaniment guitar (includes DVD)

Newfoundland Explorations – 15 very easy pieces for Guitar (Eric West)

Contact for both books:  vinlandmusic@nf.sympatico.ca  ph: 709-670-3377

Harp
Try Sylvia Woods’ website for introductory instructional books: www.harpcenter.com

Contact Gayle Tapper, gayletapper@gmail.com ph: 709-689-4277 or 709-754-7557

Mandolin
Tanglecove30 New Canadian Fiddle Tunes  (book with CD) by Dave Panting & Dan Rubin. Contact Dave Panting at: davepanting@hotmail  ph: 709-579-8027

Web sites: www.mandolincafe.com

Songwriting
For workshops contact Hugh Scott – ph: 709-753-9236 hughnkathyd@gmail.com  Also check out this website: www.songwritingfever.com/songwritingtips

Storytelling
St John’s Storytelling Festival (St John’s) – live storytelling festival www.storytellingstjohns.ca

For further information contact Gary Green – ph: 709-895-2005 jrpcnl@yahoo.com

Tin Whistle & Wooden Flute
Learning the Newfoundland Tin Whistle (Daniel Payne) – DVD; Contact Daniel Payne, danielopayne@gmail.com Web site: www.danielpayne.ca

Velvet in the Wind (CD) – by Gerry Strong; ph: 709-596-3324; email:  gerrystrong@gmail.com   website: http://www.singsonginc.ca/index.php/artists/gerry-strong

Other tin whistle websites: www.thewhistleshop.com, www.fullbodyburn.com & www.whistleaway.com

Songbooks
Songs of the Newfoundland Outports (Kenneth Peacock) – CD-ROM www.singsonginc.ca

Songs of Nfld & Labrador (songbook series): Catch Ahold This One, Sing Around This One, All Together  Now, Comfort and Joy,  Come Big Ones and Small Ones, Ron Hynes Songbook, Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers Songbook.  – more info at www.vinlandmusic.ca

Old-time Songs of Newfoundland (Gerald S. Doyle) – reprinted by Memorial University of NL

Come and I will Sing You (Genevieve Lehr) – Breakwater Books

Ballads for Piano (Pamela Morgan) – 12 Nfld tunes arranged for piano, www.ambermusic.ca

Music stores (instruments, recordings and sheet music)
A & P Music, Clarenville, www.apmusic.ca

Del’s Music, Grand Falls, Exploits Valley Mall, ph 709-489- 2001

Fred’s Records, St. John’s  www.freds.nf.ca – recordings and songbooks

Gary Bennett Music, Corner Brook, www.garybennettmusicnl.com

Long & McQuade, St. Johns,  www.long-mcquade.com

The Music Collection and Dance Corner, St John’s, www.musiccollection.ca

O’Briens Music Store, St John’s, www.obriens.ca – recordings, songbooks and instruments

Reid Music, Mt. Pearl  www.reidmusic.com

Village Music, Corner Brook, www.villagemusic.ca

Workshops and other folk arts organizations’ websites
Soundbone Traditional Arts Foundation – runs the Vinland Music Camp – a traditional music, storytelling & dance camp for all ages; hosts performances  www.soundbone.ca

Suzuki Talent Education Program – musical instrument instruction http://www.suzukinl.ca

The Folk Arts Society of NL – runs the NL Folk Festival www.nlfolk.com

MMAP – Research Centre for the Study of Music, Media & Place www.mun.ca/mmap

Vinland Music – (songbook publishing & recordings) www.vinlandmusic.ca

Amber Music (Pamela Morgan) – recordings, concerts and workshops www.ambermusic.ca

Pigeon Inlet Productions (Kelly Russell) (songbooks & recordings) www.pigeoninlet.com

Jean Hewson & Christina Smith – fiddle, guitar & vocal workshops, www.jeanandchristina.ca

SingSong Inc. (Fergus O’Byrne and Jim Payne) traditional music recordings and workshops  with Jim Payne & Fergus O’Byrne, www.singsonginc.ca

Music Industry Association MUSIC-NL, information on NL musicians, www.musicnl.ca

The Session – An online community dedicated to traditional music. Find tunes, recordings, sessions and events  www.thesession.org

Live performance venues, festivals and series
Arts and Culture Centres (throughout NL)  www.artsandculturecentre.com

The Folk Arts Society of NL – runs the NL Folk Festival in St John’s, www.nlfolk.com

House of Diamonds (Glovertown) – arts gallery and live music concerts,  www.houseofdiamondsart.com

Killdevil Fair (Gros Morne) – traditional music festival,  www.soundbone.ca

Soundbone Summer Music Series (Musgrave Harbour) – live music concerts,  www.soundbone.ca

Citadel House (Lewisporte) – live music concerts, www.citadelhouseconcert.wordpress.com

St John’s Storytelling Festival (St John’s) – live storytelling festival www.storytellingstjohns.ca

Trails, Tales and Tunes (Norris Point) – live music and storytelling www.trailstalestunes.ca

English Harbour Arts Centre in English Harbour, Trinity Bay – live concerts; website:  www.englishharbourartsassociation.com

Comments are closed.